10 things I hate about homework

homework

Yes, that’s right, students and parents aren’t the only ones who might have issues with homework! Teachers aren’t necessarily fans either.

Here’s why:

1. I can never seem to give my students the right amount of homework. I get complaints from parents that I’m giving them too much homework or not enough.

2. Sometimes the homework that is returned is of such a HIGH standard. So high that it’s hard to tell whether the student or their parent completed it.

3. Sometimes the homework that is returned is of such a LOW standard. So low that I wonder why they bothered.

4. Lots of poor and innocent dogs are unfairly framed as “homework eaters”.

5. The words “home” and “work” just don’t mix. At least this applies to me. The last thing I want to do when I get home is work, so why should we force kids to do so?

6. I sigh every time I need to find some more homework “sheets” to send home and cringe at how badly they reflect on my teaching ability.

7. Research states that homework doesn’t improve student learning (I’d find a reputable source but then writing this post wouldn’t be fun anymore and I would feel like I was doing homework).

8. I struggle to find the right way to respond to someone who doesn’t return their homework. Should I be angry? Should I be sad? Should I check if their parents care? Maybe the problem is that I don’t really care.

9. I think it’s safe to say that homework is responsible for many household fights where children are banned from playing video games and forced to stay in their rooms until their homework is completed.

10. Homework is just plain boring!

Credit to My Cute Graphics for the graphic.

Leave a Reply

